Every year, about half way through the winter season, I find myself re-embracing those tough root vegetables. They are truly wonderful, as you can always rely on them to fill your belly. Although, I always seem to reach a point where my cheeks are so rosy and my pants are so tight that I either become overwhelmed by uncomfortable laughter, or I simply give in to the  tugging urge of sleep. Dinners in the winter time are a magical thing, as they spread a calming warmth throughout your body right from the first bite.

Although I absolutely love stews, and I promise I will get around to making my own chicken pot pie, (mmm homemade buttery crust…my mouth quivers.. i could never say bye to butter) oddly enough this weekend I found myself picking up a cabbage. It’s delicate leafy folds were deceiving as I trucked this heavy vegetable all the way up the hill, only to have it break my bag on the way home. That’s right, we had a full out cabbage toss on our hands right in the middle of traffic. Luckily mid-morning Halifax never seems too grumpy, so I made it home safely with cabbage in hand.

I couldn’t wait to make some sort of soft, spicy mash. I know that doesn’t sound too appealing, but food that is both spicy and mushy is absolutely delicious. The great thing about cabbage is, you can boil half to make it soft and then add some raw half way through to add some crunch to your recipe. Usually I adapt a recipe from a website, but this was one homemade mush that didn’t need any instructions. I let those spicy instincts free, and while listening to some jesse cook, I threw powders, peppers and masalas into the wok. The best part for me is always at the end. Not only do you have steaming food in a very large pan, but you get to lick the wooden spoon. Wooden spoons are essential for every recipe endeavor, whether it be for baking or cooking, you always want to lick the wooden spoon. This recipe was great for creating smooth onion clusters that were loaded with spice, right at the edges of the spoon, and I gladly allowed myself to eat them all.

Curried Cabbage

Half a cabbage, steamed and then thrown into the wok

One white onion

1/2 cup lentils

1 Tbl Curry Powder

2 Tbl Chili Powder

1 tsp Turmeric

1 tsp Coriander Seed

1 1/2 tsp Cumin

2-3 tsp Soy Sauce

Saute the onion on medium heat. Add in the curry powder. Allow this to simmer for about 2 minutes, then add in your cabbage. Slowly add the rest of your ingredients, and make sure to throw as much spice in there as you want! This recipe is a guideline. Just remember, you can never go wrong with adding more chili powder.

More than your average curry in a hurry, I eventually added more chili powder and soy sauce.

Usually I call for a glass of one right about now, but this week was filled with such ordinary household events that it was all the comfort I needed. Chatting with mom on the phone and laughing with Connor and Lexi, this small yet beautiful moment was the perfect ending to a sunday night at our small cedar residence.