For the last week I have had an intense craving for hummus. I think that hummus is the most delicious dip ever created, as it is a mixture of all of my favourite ingredients, and it is such a sly, smooth devil. I decided to add some kick to this hummus by mixing in a bit of cumin and 3/4 of a fresh red pepper. I always overload on the garlic so I have kept this recipe tame, but I added in another garlic bulb to what is listed below, and it was delicious.

I have always enjoyed the deep color and taste of red peppers. I cannot explain it, but red peppers make me feel a little daring, as if I’m adding some sinful spice to my dish. I think I may be the only one to have such emotions and reactions associated with vegetables, but I have come to see it as a positive thing, as red peppers usually inspire me to listen to some spanish guitar and dance as I cook. Needless to say, this red pepper hummus was not only simple to make, but it definitely spiced up my evening. Alongside some  eggplant chips coated in paprika, it was one of the most delicious late night snacks I have ever devoured. I dare you to try this one!

Red Pepper Hummus

1 19 oz. can of Chickpeas

3/4 medium Red Pepper

4 Tblsp. Tahini

4 Squirts Lemon

3-4 cloves of Garlic

1/2 tsp cayenne

1/2 tsp cumin

2 Tblsp. Olive Oil

Crush the bulbs of garlic. Then proceed to mix all the ingredients together in a food processor, including the already crushed garlic. And voila!

Baked Eggplant Chips 

1 Eggplant (cut into thin circular shapes; not too thick)

Olive Oil

Paprika

Dash Sea Salt

Set your oven to 400 F. Place parchment paper on a baking sheet and place the eggplant circles on the parchment paper. Drizzle olive oil and as much paprika as you want. Sprinkle with a touch of sea salt and throw them in the oven for 10 minutes. Flip them over and put them back in for another 5 minutes or until brown and slightly crispy.

Now, it is important to keep that spanish music playing as you grab a glass of white wine and enjoy this amazing creation that you have just slaved over. Put your feet up, and enjoy 🙂