People when talking about being health always seem to throw that cliché saying out there: “You are what you eat.” I have eaten far too many cupcakes in my lifetime and I have not yet turn into one, although here’s to hoping I will! Not joking, if I were a food item I would want to be a cupcake. Not the ones with the icky fake icing on them but the ones that have the real butter cream icing. I would also request that I have turquoise icing, yellow sprinkles and a cherry on-top. Would that be too much to ask for? Anyways getting back to my point, this week I made a delicious Apple Pomegranate Brussels Sprout Salads to balance out all those cupcakes I have eaten throughout my 22 years of life. That’s right, I believe that one big luscious salad can counter all those cupcakes. I stumbled across the recipe on Joy the Baker’s blog and had to make it (Check it out! http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2011/11/apple-pomegranate-brussels-sprout-salad/). I substituted pecans for almonds and dressed it with a delicious maple balsamic glaze. So simple, so delicious and way to healthy.

 

Apple Pomegranate Brussels Sprout Salad

makes 4 small or 2 large portions

about 1 pound of Brussels sprouts

1/2 cup fresh pomegranate seeds

1 small fennel bulb, sliced thick or thin depending on how you like it

1 apple of any kind, sliced thin

handful of pecans

a little bit of  pepper if you would like

Rinse brussels sprouts and place on a cutting board horizontally, and slice thinny. Place in a large bowl and set aside.

Wearing an apron (don’t forget to put it on… you will regret it if you do) deseed pomegranate and gather about 1/2 cup of seeds (usually the whole thing).  Add to the brussels sprout bowl. Add thinly sliced fennel and apple, as well as the slivered pecans.  Toss together and there you have it! Oh and don’t forget the dressing! If you aren’t a big balsamic fan:  a) I think you are a little crazy and b) Use lemon juice instead to dress it.

Now go, frolic and be healthy!

-L